Skip to content
E-signature comparison

E-Signature Software for Small Teams: Limits, Features and Real Costs

One service counts envelopes, one sells unlimited requests to teams of up to five, and one is open source with a flat team price. Three ways to pay for signatures, priced at real team sizes.

E-signature comparison: the tools covered, shown as 3D tiles

Quick answer

On 28 October 2026, Documenso Teams was the cheapest way for 10 people to send documents for signature, at $80 a month on yearly billing. DocuSign Standard cost $300 for the same team and includes 100 envelopes per user per year. Dropbox Sign Standard cost $25 per user with unlimited requests, but only for teams of two to five.

E-signature tools look alike until you price a team. One counts envelopes per user, one sells unlimited requests but only to small teams, and one is open source with a flat team price. This page prices three of them at 5, 10 and 25 senders, using figures read from each vendor's own page on 28 October 2026.

Cost at three team sizes

Monthly cost, regular prices, yearly billing.

Tool5 senders10 senders25 sendersSending limit
DocuSign Standard$150$300$750100 envelopes per user per year
Dropbox Sign Standard$125Quote (over 5 users)QuoteUnlimited requests
Documenso Teams$40$80$200Unlimited documents, fair use
Documenso self-hostedNo licence fee for testing; production licence on requestNo usage limits listed

Profiles: DocuSign, Dropbox Sign, Documenso.

DocuSign

DocuSign sells three self-serve plans on an annual commitment: Personal at $11 a month for one user, Standard at $30 per user per month and Business Pro at $45. Standard and Business Pro both stop at 50 users.

The limit that matters is envelopes. Standard and Business Pro allow "a total of 100 envelopes per user per year", and Personal allows 5 a month. A team that sends contracts all day will hit that ceiling and move to an Enhanced plan, which is priced through sales. Single sign-on is also listed only under Enhanced plans.

Business Pro earns its extra $15 per user if you need web forms, payment collection during signing or bulk sending. Otherwise Standard covers templates, branding, team permissions and delegated signing.

Dropbox Sign

Dropbox Sign takes the opposite approach: unlimited signature requests on every paid plan. Essentials costs $15 a month for one user and Standard $25 per user per month, both at the regular yearly price.

Standard has a floor and a ceiling. It needs at least two users, and the page says that above five users you contact sales for Premium. For a team of three to five that sends a lot, that is a good deal. For a team of ten, there is no published price.

Watch the discount. The page showed $10.05 and $17.50 next to the regular prices, and its offer terms describe 30% off the first year of an annual plan. Budget for the regular price from year two.

Documenso

Documenso is open source under the AGPL-3.0, and its hosted pricing is the flattest here. Teams costs $40 a month on yearly billing for five users, plus $8 for each additional user, with unlimited documents. Individual is $25 a month and Free allows 5 documents a month. Platform, at $250 a month, removes user counting entirely and adds embedded signing, which becomes the cheaper plan at about 32 users.

Can you run e-signature on your own server?

Documenso can be self-hosted, but read its edition notes before you plan on paying nothing. The free Community Edition is listed for "testing, evaluation, internal POCs". Production self-hosting is meant to use the Business Edition, a "fixed yearly license" with no published price. None of the editions includes infrastructure support.

Self-hosting makes sense when signed documents must stay on your own infrastructure. It moves the work of keeping the server patched and backed up onto you, so price a server too: our server comparison starts at $4 a month.

Which one fits?

  • One person signing occasionally: Documenso Free, or DocuSign Personal if you need its wide recognition.
  • Two to five people sending many documents: Dropbox Sign Standard, at the regular price.
  • Ten or more senders on a budget: Documenso Teams.
  • Predictable volume and a preference for the best-known name: DocuSign Standard, if 100 envelopes per user a year is enough.
  • Documents that must stay in-house: Documenso self-hosted, with a Business Edition licence for production.

Signing offer letters? See hiring software costs. Sending quotes from a sales pipeline? See CRM costs by team size.

Which plan has the features that matter

Each cell is the cheapest plan that includes the feature, read from the vendor’s pages on 28 October 2026. “Not stated” means the pricing page did not say; it does not mean the feature is missing.

FeatureDocuSignDropbox SignDocumenso
Reusable templatesEvery planEssentials5 templates; 15 on StandardNot stated
Custom brandingStandardNot statedPlatformWhite-label embedded signing
Bulk sendBusiness ProNot statedNot stated
Payment collectionBusiness ProNot statedNot stated
API accessBusiness ProDeveloper account and APIsNot statedAPI is priced separatelyIndividualPersonal use on Individual; automation on Teams
Single sign-onEnhancedContact salesNot statedNot stated

Key points

  1. At 10 users on yearly billing, Documenso Teams cost $80 a month and DocuSign Standard $300.
  2. DocuSign Standard and Business Pro include 100 envelopes per user per year; Personal includes 5 a month.
  3. Dropbox Sign Standard needs at least 2 users and is self-serve only up to 5; larger teams are quoted.
  4. Dropbox Sign showed first-year discounts on annual plans; its regular prices were $15 and $25.
  5. Documenso is AGPL-3.0 open source, but its free self-hosted edition is intended for testing, not production.

Questions

What is the cheapest e-signature software for a team of 10?

On our 28 October 2026 read, Documenso Teams was cheapest at $80 a month on yearly billing: $40 for the first five users plus $8 for each extra. DocuSign Standard cost $300 for ten users, and Dropbox Sign's self-serve Standard plan stops at five users, so ten needs a quote.

Does DocuSign limit how many documents a team can send?

Yes. DocuSign counts envelopes. Its pricing page gives Personal 5 a month, and Standard and Business Pro a total of 100 per user per year. Enhanced plans set custom limits through sales. Dropbox Sign advertises unlimited signature requests, and Documenso's paid plans list unlimited documents under a fair-use policy.

Are the Dropbox Sign prices on its page the full price?

Not always. On our read date the page showed Essentials at $10.05 and Standard at $17.50 a month, beside $15 and $25. Its offer terms describe 30% off the first year of an annual plan, after which billing returns to the regular price. We use the regular prices in every cost on this page.

Can a business host its own e-signature software?

Yes. Documenso is open source under the AGPL-3.0 and runs on your own server. Documenso describes its free Community Edition as for testing, evaluation and internal proofs of concept, and points production use to its Business Edition, a fixed yearly licence whose price is given on request.

Do the people who sign documents need a paid account?

All three services price by the people who send documents. Dropbox Sign states it directly: people who only sign need no account and pay nothing. DocuSign's limits are counted per sending user, and Documenso's team plans are priced by user. Check the terms if many staff both send and sign.

Sources

  1. DocuSign · docusign.com
  2. Dropbox Sign · sign.dropbox.com
  3. Documenso · documenso.com
  4. AGPL-3.0 · github.com
  5. edition notes · documenso.com

Who wrote this

Stackfeature Research Desk

The Research Desk is a shared byline, not a person. Work published under it is compiled from vendor pricing pages, documentation and licence files, each linked and dated in the piece. Nothing under this byline claims hands-on testing unless the piece says so and links the evidence.

Citing a figure from this page? Carry its date with it. Prices here were read on the date shown above, and corrections are logged.

All comparisons