Skip to content
E-signature

Documenso: pricing, features and team fit

An open-source e-signature platform with a low flat-priced team plan in the cloud, and a self-hosted edition you can run on your own server.

Cloud + self-hostwhere it runs
6plans listed
28 Oct 2026prices read
Cost at your team sizeper month, before tax
5 seats$40Teams
10 seats$80Teams
25 seats$200Teams

Cheapest hosted plan that fits, read from the vendor’s page on 28 October 2026.

Documenso at a glance

1Cost

$80 a month for 10 users on Teams.

Read 28 October 2026. Every plan is in the table below.

2Team-size fit

  • Free plan for up to 1 user.
  • Individual stops at 1 users; team number 2 moves everyone to Teams.
  • Teams includes 5 users, then $8 for each extra.
  • Can be self-hosted, so the user count no longer sets the licence cost.

3Key features

Reusable templates
Not stated
Custom branding
Platform
Bulk send
Not stated
Payment collection
Not stated
API access
Individual
Single sign-on
Not stated

4Control and data

Where it runs
Hosted or self-hosted
Licence
AGPL-3.0
Single sign-on
Not stated
Data export
Not yet checked
Best for
Teams that want low per-user costs, unlimited documents, or the option to keep signing on their own infrastructure.
Watch out
Documenso describes its free self-hosted Community Edition as for testing and evaluation; production self-hosting is meant to use a paid licence priced on request.
PlanPriceUnitBillingSeatsNote
Community Edition (self-hosted)No licence fee—free—Documenso lists it for testing, evaluation and internal proofs of concept
FreeFree—freemax 1 seats5 documents a month, up to 10 recipients per document. Single user assumed: multi-user signing is sold as Teams
Individual$25per monthbilled annuallymax 1 seats$300 billed yearly; unlimited documents. Single user, as the plan name says
Teams$40per monthbilled annually5 seats included$480 billed yearly; includes 5 users, then $8 per extra user a month
Platform$250per monthbilled annually—$3,000 billed yearly; unlimited documents and users, embedded signing
Business Edition (self-hosted)On request—billing period not stated—Fixed yearly licence for production self-hosting; price on request

In USD, excluding tax. Where a page did not say whether a price is annual or monthly, the table says “billing period not stated”.

What the vendor’s pages say

Documenso is an open-source e-signature platform. Its licence file is the GNU AGPL-3.0, and the project's README describes self-hosting it with Docker.

The hosted pricing is unusually flat. Free allows 5 documents a month with up to 10 recipients each. Individual costs $25 a month on yearly billing ($300 a year) with unlimited documents. Teams costs $40 a month on yearly billing ($480 a year), "includes 5 users" and charges $8 a month for each additional user. Platform, at $250 a month on yearly billing, covers unlimited documents and users and adds white-label embedded signing. Paid plans are subject to a fair-use policy that the page links.

Self-hosting needs a careful read. The self-hosted page offers three editions. The free Community Edition is listed for "testing, evaluation, internal POCs", without the enterprise feature set or support. The Business Edition is a "fixed yearly license" intended for "serious production use", and its price is not published. All three editions list no usage limits, and none includes infrastructure support.

So the open-source licence lets you run Documenso yourself, but Documenso's own guidance points production teams to a paid licence. If you want signing on your own servers with no licence fee at all, read the AGPL terms and Documenso's edition notes before you rely on the Community Edition.

At 10 users: Teams costs $80 a month on yearly billing: $40 for the first five users plus five more at $8. At 25 users it is $200. Compare it with DocuSign and Dropbox Sign, or see servers for self-hosting.