GitHub pricing
Code hosting with built-in CI/CD minutes, a generous free plan, and per-user paid plans that were shown at introductory prices.
Cost at your team size
Cheapest hosted plan that allows the team, per month, before tax and add-ons.
| Plan | Price | Unit | Billing | Seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | — | free | — | |
| Team | $4 | per seat / month | billing period not stated | — | Shown as the price for the first 12 months |
| Enterprise | $21 | per seat / month | billing period not stated | — | Shown as the price for the first 12 months |
Read from the vendor’s pages on , in USD, excluding tax. Where a page did not say whether a price is annual or monthly, the table says “billing period not stated”.
What you get, and the catch
- Best for
- Teams that want code hosting, pull requests and CI in one place, with most collaborators already holding GitHub accounts.
- Watch out
- Team and Enterprise were shown 'for the first 12 months', and the regular price after that was not visible. SAML SSO is an Enterprise feature.
The GitHub pricing page lists three plans:
| Plan | Price | CI/CD minutes a month | Packages storage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 2,000 | 500 MB |
| Team | $4 per user/month | 3,000 | 2 GB |
| Enterprise | $21 per user/month | 50,000 | 50 GB |
Every plan includes unlimited public and private repositories.
On our read date, both paid prices carried the wording "for the first 12 months*". The footnote that explains the asterisk, and the price after the first year, were not visible in the page text we read, and GitHub's documentation pages refused our automated requests. We show the $4 and $21 figures as printed and flag them, rather than guess at the regular price. If you are budgeting beyond the first year, ask GitHub or check the footnote in a browser.
SAML single sign-on appears on the Enterprise card ("Everything included in Team, plus... SAML single sign-on"), so a company that must connect code access to its identity provider is looking at Enterprise.
For many small teams the Free plan is enough. Private repositories are unlimited, and 2,000 CI/CD minutes covers a modest build-and-test pipeline. Teams usually move up for more minutes, more storage and admin controls.
At 10 developers: $0 on Free, or $40 a month on Team at the price shown for the first year. Compare it in the developer platforms category.
Compare in Developer platforms
All Developer platforms tools- ComparisonDeveloper Platforms for Small Teams: Code Hosting and Deploy Costs
- ProfileVercel pricing
- ProfileGitLab pricing