Skip to content

Basecamp pricing

Project management sold as flat monthly packages with user caps, rather than per seat, ending in an unlimited-user plan.

Cloudwhere it runs
5plans listed
27 Octprices read 2026

Cost at your team size

5 seats$29per month on Freelancer
10 seats$79per month on Pro
25 seats$199per month on Pro Unlimited

Cheapest hosted plan that allows the team, per month, before tax and add-ons.

PlanPriceUnitBillingSeatsNote
FreeFree—freemax 3 seats1 project
Freelancer$29per monthbilling period not statedmax 5 seats3 active projects
Pro$79per monthbilling period not statedmax 10 seats8 projects
Pro Plus$99per monthbilling period not statedmax 15 seats12 projects
Pro Unlimited$199
$329 month to month
per monthbilled annually—Unlimited users and projects

Read from the vendor’s pages on , in USD, excluding tax. Where a page did not say whether a price is annual or monthly, the table says “billing period not stated”.

What you get, and the catch

Best for
Teams that would rather pay one known monthly price than track seat counts, and teams near the 15-user mark that can jump to unlimited.
Watch out
The cheaper packages cap both projects and users. A team of 16 or more needs Pro Unlimited.

Basecamp is the clearest example here of flat pricing. The pricing page sells packages with a fixed monthly price, each capped by projects, storage and users:

  • Free: 1 project, 1 GB, up to 3 users.
  • Freelancer: $29 a month, 3 active projects, 10 GB, up to 5 users.
  • Pro: $79 a month, 8 projects, 25 GB, up to 10 users.
  • Pro Plus: $99 a month, 12 projects, 100 GB, up to 15 users.
  • Pro Unlimited: $199 a month billed annually, or $329 billed monthly, with unlimited projects, unlimited users and 1,000 GB.

The page does not state a billing period for the three middle packages, so we show those as monthly prices.

What this means in practice: a 10-person team pays $79 a month on Pro, which is less than most per-seat tools charge at that size. But both caps apply at once. A team of 8 people running 10 projects has already outgrown Pro, and anyone past 15 users must move to Pro Unlimited.

The pricing page does not mention single sign-on or data export, so check those with Basecamp if you need them.

At 10 seats: $79 a month on Pro, if 8 projects are enough. At 25 seats: $199 a month on annual Pro Unlimited. Compare it with per-seat tools in the project management category.

Compare in Project management

All Project management tools